Students get an early start on Ottawa 2017 celebrations

15E-178   163Ottawa – Mayor Jim Watson was joined by Councillors Jean Cloutier and Mathieu Fleury to welcome approximately 300 students to City Hall for the announcement of the winners of the Ottawa 2017 Postcard Design Contest.
“Through your creativity and enthusiasm, you will become a part of Canadian history,” Mayor Watson told the students. “Your artwork will be used to create postcards and e-cards that will be sent to thousands and thousands of Canadians, inviting them to visit their Nation’s Capital for Canada’s 150th birthday. I even plan on sending giant versions to the mayors of each provincial and territorial capital, inviting them to be here for Canada’s big year.”
The winning designs were selected by a volunteer panel from the local arts community, including artist Andrew King, Alexandra Badzak, Executive Director of the Ottawa Art Gallery, and Guy Badeaux (a.k.a. Bado), the cartoonist for Le Droit newspaper. The winning student artists are:
Grade 1 – Omar Amer, Berrigan Elementary School
Grade 2 – Sarah Holmesdale, Connaught Public School
Grade 3 – Kailyn Valenta, Ottawa Christian School
Grade 4 – Holden Bethune, North Gower/Marlborough Public School
Grade 5 – Veronika Podobed, St. John the Apostle School
Grade 6 – Sarah Woods, Holy Family Catholic School
Grade 7 – Sonia Xu, Emily Carr Middle School
Grade 8 – Danika Westman, Sacred Heart High School
Grade 9 – Anne-Sophie Cusson, École Secondaire Publique De la Salle
Grade 10 – Abdullah Ghader, St. Patrick’s High School
Grade 11 – Emily Ngsee, Merivale High School
Grade 12 – Randy Tran, Merivale High School












Each was presented with an enlarged commemorative copy of their design.
Following the ceremony, all the students were treated to free pizza, courtesy of Gabriel Pizza. “We are proud to support this initiative and thank all the students that gave their time, energy and talent,” said President George Hanna. “Gabriel Pizza has been a part of many great parties in Ottawa and there will be none greater than Ottawa 2017.”

For more information, contact:

Jerrod Riley
613-580-2424, ext 13580
[email protected]